We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Arrival City

by Ilpo

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

    Extended album art (8 pictures)
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 12 Ilpo releases available on Bandcamp and save 20%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Interspaces, Sharawadji, Flux, Outlands, Music for the Pan Sonic Tribute Concert, Flash of the Spirit, Terra, Pulses / Radiance, and 4 more. , and , .

    Excludes subscriber-only releases.

    Purchasable with gift card

      €52.40 EUR or more (20% OFF)


Sade 03:08
Arrival City 03:41
Odili Scape 03:52
Wild At Dusk 03:03
Tralience 03:09
Rain 2 03:12
Kyoto Colour 04:52
Sade Horizon 02:37
Sail 05:08


Arrival City is my second album as Ilpo, and it fuses various West African musical influences with new urban pop and experimental electronic music. The album features vocal contributions from Diana Bada, Wanja Kimani, Sade Aboderin, Lee Clough, Gabriel Teko, Gustave Dylamour and John Follass – in sung, spoken and abstract forms – as well as Lagos soundscapes by Emeka Ogboh.

The album has been inspired by the idea of global metropolises where people all over the world migrate in the search of a better life: the new ecosystems they create, human stories within them, and the new opportunities, scenes and downfalls they present. It’s also been inspired by more invisible geographies created by people collaborating, sharing and connecting globally. The record has been shaped and recorded in Benin, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Finland, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal and Togo.


released October 10, 2013

Composed, performed and mixed by Ilpo Jauhiainen

Arrival City & It’s Gonna Shine - written by Ilpo Jauhiainen and Veli-Matti Kimanen

Lagos Space & Spore - written by Ilpo Jauhiainen and Diana Bada

Wild At Dusk - written by Ilpo Jauhiainen, Wanja Kimani, Gabriel Teko and Veli-Matti Kimanen

Recorded at Frostbite Studios, Lagos - recording engineer: Lucky Joseph Emunemu (Lowkeyz); MD-Studio, Helsinki - Pro Tools and studio assistance: Jeppe Cavonius; Villa Karo, Grand-Popo.

Produced by Ilpo Jauhiainen

Mastered by Niklas Silén at Good Will Mastering

Cover art, design and typography - Linda Förstner

The inside album graphic 'Wonder Here' by Ilpo Jauhiainen. It contains images of the paintings 'Double Edge' by Odili Donald Odita and 'Before You Speak IV' by Mari Rantanen. Used with the kind permission of the artists and Kuvasto ry (2013).

The most heartfelt gratitude to: Adjadohoun Leutamini, Anna Retulainen, Diana Bada, Emeka Ogboh, Gabriel Teko, Georges Agbazahou, Gustave Dylamour, Jeppe Cavonius, John Follass, Kwassi Akpladokou, Lee Clough, Linda Förstner, Luc Dhalmann, Lucky Joseph Emunemu , Megumi Matsubara, Missla Libsekal, Nana Oforiatta-Ayim, Niklas Silén, Noel Saizonou, Odili Donald Odita, Sade Aboderin, Sansa, Smooth Ugochukwu, Tero Heikkinen, Ulpu-Leena Hozjajenok, Wanja Kimani, Veli-Matti Kimanen, Villa Karo staff.


all rights reserved



Ilpo Paris, France

Ilpo (Ilpo Jauhiainen, b. 1977 Finland) is a composer, music producer and sound artist. He works collaboratively and globally across the arts. His musical interests revolve around the possibilities and combinations of music and sound art, new global musical styles, contemporary classical and generative music. ... more

contact / help

Contact Ilpo

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Ilpo recommends:

If you like Ilpo, you may also like: